Grain-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

I fell in love with The Urban Poser’s recipe for Grain Free “Oatmeal” Creme Pie Cookies and had to try them for myself, with a few changes. I used to LOVE the Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie Cookies, so much so that I almost made myself sick on them a couple times : /  It used to be that I never cared about how much sugar I was eating, but I realized that I couldn’t over-eat sugary foods forever and get away with it. My sweet tooth would catch up with me one day, unless I made some changes.

That’s why I love these cookies: they are simple and wholesome (though still a treat). I won’t end up with a sugar hangover from these cookies. I tweaked the original recipe and skipped the marshmallow creme to make these cookies. I made some cookies like these several years ago, but they had eggs in them, so this recipe is even better. In the photo below, I made mini cookies and used mini chocolate chips; so cute and the perfect portion size!

Grain-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes @ 2 dozen cookies

Paleo; contains tree nuts; Free Of: gluten, grains, cane sugar, eggs, dairy, soy

1 cup almond butter
1/3 cup raw honey
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 Tablespoons water (you could skip this if your almond butter is thin or you want thicker cookies)
1 Tablespoons ground chia seed or flax seed meal
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 cup chocolate chips or mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Place all ingredients in a medium size bowl and mix together with a hand blender until well combined.
  3. Scoop the dough onto the cookie sheets using level Tablespoonfuls of dough (alternatively, you could roll the dough into balls).
  4. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes or so, until they are set and lightly browned. For softer cookies, cook less; for crunchy cookies, bake a bit longer.
  5. Cool completely on the cookie sheet or move the entire piece of parchment paper (with the cookies) to a cooling rack to cool. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Grain-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • Flaxseed meal works well in place of chia seeds if you can’t find any chia seeds. I use a spice/coffee grinder to grind up the chia seeds for recipes like this : ) Chia and flax work well as a binder so you can replace eggs. I also use it instead of xanthan gum in gluten-free recipes.

  1. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday « andrea drugay

Share your ideas!

